We are starting a new series of interviews featuring great library workers from around the North and beyond. If you would like to be featured or know someone who would be great to interview please email mclark@yellowknife.ca

For our very first interview, meet Anne Walsh! Anne is the manager of library and information services at Aurora College in Yellowknife.

anne

What was the first job you ever had? 

I was a cashier at Woolco when I was 16 and in my first year of university.

What was your first position in the library or information field? 

I worked part time in the library in Kincardine, Ontario. They were part of a county system and had no library catalog. If you wanted to check if something was supposed to be on the shelf, you had to call the main Library Branch, long-distance, and they looked up the CD-Rom catalog. This was approximately 1988ish.

What are you reading or watching right now? 

As per usual, a Scandinavian mystery. They have been my favourite for about 20 years now, way before the Dragon Tattoo. I keep finding more authors.

If you didn’t work in information services, what do you think you’d be doing? 

I would love to be a textile artist, but the pay isn’t the greatest… 😦

I knit, sew, quilt, weave, and make things with fabrics/textiles/yarns, etc.

What makes you passionate about library work? 

I love helping people find the information they need.