Kristen started working in libraries 16 years ago on a whim and totally fell in love with the work. She started out as a shelver and for the last three years has been the Youth Services Manager at Eugene Public Library. She has a passion for working with youth, building relationships with patrons to deepen community connections, and strives to ensure that the library is active and fun!

kristen

What are you reading or watching right now? 

I am currently on YALSA’s Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers so I am frantically trying to read a ton of teen books; and like most folks I know I am getting ready for Avenger’s Endgame and the return of Game of Thrones with some re-watching of past movies and seasons.

What is the best career advice you’ve ever received? 

Be 100% honest and true to yourself and your library values in an interview. During one interview they asked how I felt about rules, when I honestly answered that I felt like rules should be broken as often as necessary… THEY HIRED ME! Being honest allows you and them to gage if the fit is right for the organization.

What is the coolest thing in your office or on your desk? 

It was hard to pick the COOLEST. I really enjoy my collection of Batgirl art and figurines and my terrarium with 3D printed creatures but the best thing on my desk is a giant light up sign that says, “YES”. It’s a great reminder to me of why I work in a library and how I want to show up for my colleagues and patrons.